Wednesday, February 2, 2011


On February 1st, the Whitney Awards Committee announced their five finalists in seven genres of fiction, and I'm very grateful to announce that "Oh, Say Can You See?" was named a finalist in the area of Historical Fiction!

What are the Whitneys?

From the Whitney Awards web site:

The Whitneys are an awards program for novels by LDS authors. Elder Orson F. Whitney, an early apostle in the LDS church, prophesied “We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own.” Since we have that as our goal, we feel that we should also honor those authors who excel and continually raise the bar.

The Whitney Awards honor novels in the following categories: General Fiction, Romance, Suspense/Mystery, Speculative Fiction, Youth Fiction, Historical, Best Novel of the Year, and Best Novel by a New Author.

Whitney nominated novels are not necessarily LDS in content, but their authors are LDS, (members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) whose goal is to provide outstanding literature that's uplifting and clean in content.

Any reader can nominate a novel published within the year of nomination. Once a book receives the needed number of reader nominations it is voted on by an academy of industry professionals, including authors, publishers, bookstore owners, distributors, critics, and others.

Thanks to everyone who supported "Oh, Say Can You See?" and the entire Free Men and Dreamers series. I am thrilled to be a finalist and to have my book named amongst these wonderful authors' works.

Check on the link and see the slate of outstanding titles released in 2010. Any of these titles will guarantee you a great read, as well as the dozens of other outstanding titles that were nominees.

And as you read new releases this year, please nominate outstanding books written by LDS authors. Our goal as an LDS writing community is to provide national market-quality novels, and the more feedback great novels receive, the higher the bar is raised.


No comments:

Post a Comment