Monday, October 18, 2010


I'm proud to be an LDS author. More and more readers are turning to LDS authors' work for novels that rival national titles in quality and content without compromising readers' standards. This commitment is a reflection of our personal standards and our desire to produce uplifting material that elevates the readers and the craft.

The Whitney Awards were established to honor and celebrate LDS authors and their books that excel in these efforts. It is the most coveted recognition in this small writing community, perhaps because winning one of these awards means an LDS book has won the praise of both fans and industry professionals alike.
Some changes are underway for the Whitneys beginning in 2011. This change is a reflection of the market's increasing confidence in the quality of LDS books currently being published. You'll find the official Whitney Committee press release posted below, detailing the changes and the reasoning behind them.

Have you read an LDS novel that moved you this year? If you have, and if you feel it was worthy of recognition, consider nominating it. Let the committee know about your favorites from 2010!
The deadline for nominations is December 31st.




A major change has come to the Whitney Awards! By unanimous vote, the
Whitney Committee has elected to allow nominees to win in any category for which
they are nominated. The previous rule, which allowed books to win in only one
category, gave the second place finisher in genre categories the top prize if
the first place novel won an overall award.

For example, if Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford had the
strength to win top honors in multiple categories, such as Best Novel, Best
Novel by a New Author, and Best Genre Novel, it would be allowed to take the
prize for all three rather than allowing the award in lesser categories go to
the second or even third place winner in that category.

This new award system provides greater recognition for truly outstanding books
that merit such.

"Originally, we wanted to give as many great LDS authors a chance to win as
possible," said Whitney committee member Crystal Liechty. "But we feel like
we¹ve had enough exposure at this point so that there¹s no need to prevent a
book from sweeping every category it¹s in if that¹s what the voters want."

The Whitneys are an awards program for novels by LDS authors. Elder Orson F.
Whitney, an early apostle in the LDS church, prophesied "We will yet have
Miltons and Shakespeares of our own." Since we have that as our goal, we feel
that we should also honor those authors who excel and continually raise the bar.

"Allowing novels to win multiple categories follows the precedence of other
nationally recognized award programs, such as The Academy Awards," said Josi
Kilpack, Whitney Awards President. "We¹re excited about this change and the
continuing excellence in writing that The Whitney Awards both supports and

The Whitney Awards honor novels in the following categories: General
Fiction, Romance, Suspense/Mystery, Speculative Fiction, Youth
Fiction,Historical, Best Novel of the Year, and Best Novel by a New Author.
Novels can be nominated by any reader (via this website or by mail), and
nominees are voted on by an academy of industry professionals, including
authors,publishers, bookstore owners, distributors, critics, and others. For
more information on the Whitney Awards or to nominate a book, visit


Josi S. Kilpack
Whitney Awards President

No comments:

Post a Comment